Why won't my HC Lasers fire?

Galactic diplomacy with extreme prejudice.
TheCaptn

Why won't my HC Lasers fire?

Post by TheCaptn » Sat Jan 07, 2012 11:48 am

I'm new to SotS, having picked it up during the Steam holiday sale, and I've started a few different games as both Human and Liir only to run into the same problem every time: I push through to HC Lasers with the intention of fitting out anti-capital-ship cruisers, mainly to defend against Silicoid Queens, The Herald, that sort of thing, but the damned things never (or almost never) shoot at anything.

I generally put four on the front line with two in the reserve list. The ships are of the Battle Bridge + Blazer variety, I've tried them in both Normal and Stand Off modes, I've tried setting the HC's to weapon group 2 and then setting that group to Fire At My Target, but none of it seems to make any difference.
Most of my combat rounds go by without a single HC shot being fired. In the entire round those ships only have a single target, and they spend it firing either missiles or UV Lasers depending on what else they're armed with... I can't figure out how to target an enemy without it dropping a specific target crosshair, so on a rotating ship I need to keep moving said crosshair to maintain line-of-sight. I thought that might be a problem, but even on stationary targets like Hives they spend the whole time pointing at the target but never firing.

What am I doing wrong?!?

Kaan'Ish

Re: Why won't my HC Lasers fire?

Post by Kaan'Ish » Wed Jan 18, 2012 12:45 pm

Are you in range? Heavy beam mounts have a surprisingly short range relative to many other weapons. They're certainly much shorter than missiles, which would explain them not firing on stand-off orders, as your ships will be lurking at maximum weapons range.