Liir ER Medium Mount at gamestart

Galactic diplomacy with extreme prejudice.
Maerlyn

Post by Maerlyn » Tue May 15, 2012 2:49 pm

So, I am fairly new to this game and play Liir (in my second MP game against some friends) and I use ERs at the start of the game a lot, to

1. scout the map for possible colonizations
2. attack new colonies of my "friends" (we play maps with around ~15-18 planets per player)

so i wonder, what weapons should i put in this tasty medium mount slot? i am even willing to spend a tiny amount into weapons ressearch early on in order to win this crucial scout battles.

should i stick with standard missiles? they dont do any damage it seems. and upgrading to a shaped warhead, while needing no retrofit and even working for all my ERs already out there, seems like an utter waste because they still dont do much damage it seems.

plasma canons dont seem tasty neither for the buck, and mass drivers, while adding a lot of punch, seem worthless later on because liir suck wich ballistic weapons.

i was thinking about getting green lasers fast and mounting two of them in there, but on the other hand, is this really getting me anywhere? i mean, is it even worth it? do ERs with green laser do that much better than Ers with red laser?

any comments would be appreciated, as would be a repost of these "SotS colony growth spreadsheet version 0.9.zip" that got deleted from the server.

thanx a lot
and, ahm, nice to be here 8)

Maerlyn

Warcat

Re: Liir ER Medium Mount at gamestart

Post by Warcat » Tue May 15, 2012 6:48 pm

Hi Maerlyn, welcome to the forum.

With a single ER or even a couple of them, only fledging colonies can be destroyed, and weapons aren't an issue.
Even standard red laser, or gauss cannons, on every mount can wipe out a newly founded colony.