My evoloving understanding of combat in SotS...

Galactic diplomacy with extreme prejudice.
Day
Zuul Survivor
Zuul Survivor

My evoloving understanding of combat in SotS...

Post by Day » Mon Jul 31, 2006 4:12 am

This title wasn't meant to be pretentious. It's still evolving. I just wanted to share how I got from utterly confused to where I am now, which is a point where I feel like I am understanding, at least, and learning from defeats. If you are feeling like you don't know what you're doing, or like you have very little impact on the course of a battle, then this rant may help you. Or, well, I hope it does.

For the record... I'm not very good at these games. I never won a game of MoO3. I never played many other SciFi 4X games. I'm only decent at RTSes, so I was prepared to, as the kids say these days, suxx0r at tactical combat.

Before I go much further, let me say this: Get a CnC ship. Combat is possible without one, but man is it harder. When I first got around to CnC, I didn't really get it. I left it in the center of my formations and put other ships around it. I ordered my back field... I thought I was doing okay. And, like, every combat, my CnC ship got killed. I didn't get it. I neglected to realize that the value of a CnC ship has absolutely nothing to do with guns that are mounted on it. So I developed what I think of as my first breakthrough in strategy: Make a formation with your CnC in the back and everything else up front. Then, make your CnC ship a different control group before battle starts (select from the numbers in the top left of the formation screen, then right-click a ship in the diagram to assign it to that group). As battle starts, find the bad guys and direct your CnC to go study some particles in the other direction. Really, really far.