Save Game Editor

Share your mods and tricks of the trade here.
DesMarekle
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by DesMarekle » Sat Feb 05, 2011 2:30 pm

you can do that by modifying the "MasterTechList.tech" file situated in "yourinstallfolder/sots.gob/TechTree" (at least i think thats where it is in vanilla, i only play okim's ACM mod where the file can be found in "yourinstallfolder/ACM/TechTree")
It consists of entries such as these:
tech
{
name "WEP_massdriver2"
---> name of the technology
family "BAL"
---> tree it belongs to i think
threat 2
---> something for AI, unimportant
requires GRP_FIXED
---> technology it requires to show up as researchable in the tree
allows "WEP_massdriver3 RP:1500000 Human:50 Zuul:50 Hiver:50 Tarkas:50 Liir:60 Morrigi:75"
allows "WEP_ShldDrvr2 RP:300000 Human:50 Zuul:50 Hiver:50 Tarkas:50 Liir:60 Morrigi:75"
allows "WEP_ErgDrain RP:300000 Human:50 Zuul:50 Hiver:50 Tarkas:50 Liir:60 Morrigi:75"
allows "WEP_ThmpDrvr RP:500000 Human:50 Zuul:50 Hiver:50 Tarkas:50 Liir:60 Morrigi:75"
allows "WEP_MasShtDrvr RP:500000 Human:50 Zuul:50 Hiver:50 Tarkas:50 Liir:60 Morrigi:75"
allows "WEP_stormer RP:800000 Human:50 Zuul:50 Hiver:50 Tarkas:50 Liir:60 Morrigi:75"
---> what tech opportunities spring from this tech when researched. "name of tech" "cost of tech (setting RP to 0 will have it instaresearched as soon as it becomes available)" "probability that research opportunity arises when tech is researched for each race respectively (setting it all to 0 for all races will make all tech unnavailable except through salvaging, which is how you do what "johndunk" meant)"
requires "DRV_AntiMat"
requires "IND_CruisCon"
---> technology it requires to show up as researchable in the tree (i dont know why these two are separate from GRP_FIXED :S)
''Oderint dum metuant.'' - ''May they hate me, as long as they fear me.''

johndunk
Posts: 236
Joined: Mon May 03, 2010 4:37 pm

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by johndunk » Sat Feb 05, 2011 10:52 pm

So that would be true for all players, right? What ZedF had done was only restrict himself.

Here, check it out: http://www.kerberos-productions.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=16148
SotS1: CC 1.8.0 - SotS2: 18864b

DesMarekle
Posts: 31
Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 4:41 pm

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by DesMarekle » Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:03 pm

aaaah...
ok, then, the guy is mad -.-
''Oderint dum metuant.'' - ''May they hate me, as long as they fear me.''

Azrael Ultima
Posts: 3052
Joined: Thu Jan 27, 2011 3:20 am

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by Azrael Ultima » Sun Feb 06, 2011 5:04 pm

DesMarekle wrote:requires GRP_FIXED
---> technology it requires to show up as researchable in the tree
requires "DRV_AntiMat"
requires "IND_CruisCon"
---> technology it requires to show up as researchable in the tree (i dont know why these two are separate from GRP_FIXED :S)

The former refers to any one from a group of techs(e.g. you need to have a torpedo for t-sats to be researchable) while the latter refers to specific technologies, in this case Anti-Matter and Cruiser Construction.
I've got a lovely bunch of coconuts.
The zeppelin of bluster Feldman excoriated Freddy with suddenly popped into a cloud of humility. (David Grand, The Disappearing Body, 2002)

handsome pete
Posts: 120
Joined: Fri Mar 13, 2009 11:48 am

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by handsome pete » Fri Mar 04, 2011 5:29 am

I discovered in my limited time playing this game recently that if you give another empire a colony (using the save game editor) and don't get around to getting them to build a ship on the colony therefore fully gaining ownership of the colony, if you discover this colony with your own ships first the game crashes.

Preda
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jun 30, 2009 1:51 pm

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by Preda » Tue Nov 01, 2011 4:42 pm

Sorry for the bump.

I'm getting an error saying "Input string was not in correct format" whenever I try to alter one of the values. What am I doing wrong?

Roughneck
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2011 1:46 pm

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by Roughneck » Fri Nov 04, 2011 8:49 pm

Probably because you're using commas. Don't use commas.

SavageV
Posts: 94
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 7:57 pm

Update?

Post by SavageV » Tue Dec 06, 2011 2:14 am

I used this editor quite a bit, but it crashed constantly and making a lot of changes was slow and painful. I wrote my own editor with a lot more features, check it out here. Works with for any 1.8 version of SOTS.

User avatar
vmxa
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Dec 31, 2010 1:32 am

Re: Save Game Editor

Post by vmxa » Mon Mar 08, 2021 1:21 am

delete

Post Reply

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests