Apollo Effects Editor

Share your mods and tricks of the trade here.
User avatar
erdrik
Posts: 5421
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:13 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by erdrik » Wed Mar 18, 2009 11:11 pm

Thnx! :thumbsup:

User avatar
Okim
Posts: 2135
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:03 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by Okim » Sat Jun 20, 2009 9:23 am

CE Apollo version can`t open rail cannon bullet, warmup and expire files. Is there a new version or am i doing smth wrong?

P.S.: other effects with meshes (massdrivers) are opened normaly.
Okim`s Studios - a collection of my mods and other projects:
http://www.okim.nickersonm.com/okim-studios

User avatar
Dahak
Posts: 154
Joined: Sun Oct 22, 2006 2:50 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by Dahak » Sat Jul 11, 2009 6:07 pm

It can't open any of the new weapons :(

I hope we get a new version soon!

etherealblade
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:59 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by etherealblade » Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:16 pm

Major Diarrhia-Donno! :D I wanted to take this opportunity to say that I love your effects mods....sadly I upgraded to ANY recently and I had to depart from them :cry: However, I know you'll get to ANY eventually so its all good. Just a question though, Do you plan to make the nuclear missle explosions.....like real nukes? :shock: :) :D :thumbsup: :bangdesk:

User avatar
castewarkp
Site Admin
Posts: 1629
Joined: Fri Aug 05, 2005 6:11 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by castewarkp » Wed Jul 22, 2009 12:28 am


User avatar
whatamidoinghere
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Jan 24, 2009 6:46 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by whatamidoinghere » Wed Jul 22, 2009 1:14 am

Yay!
Wonderful, wonderful cookies!


ANY 1.7.1 Firestorm Mod

User avatar
erdrik
Posts: 5421
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:13 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by erdrik » Wed Jul 22, 2009 8:44 pm

Yay! +

And fyi, etherealblade, Nukes in space are not as flashy as you think.
No atmosphere to burn/push.
A Vacuum equals no colorful fire, no shockwave.
Just intense, but mostly non visible, radiation. :thumbsup:

etherealblade
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 21, 2009 4:59 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by etherealblade » Mon Aug 03, 2009 7:48 am

Oh.... :cry: good point.....

However.......we always have lasers :thumbsup: .
Now technically those shouldn't be visible either...but I"m glad there are more people than me that think that's boring =). I see many people into missile mayhem too ;) Oh...the feeling of futility as a plethora of incoming missiles threaten to wipe out one's poorly guarded colony vessels... :bangdesk:

Thanks for the editor I'll see if I can do something interesting.

User avatar
SpardaSon21
Posts: 1864
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:24 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by SpardaSon21 » Sat Jan 23, 2010 10:26 pm

I'm probably doing something horribly wrong here, but every time I start up the editor and load an effect the effect just shows up horribly wrong and not at all what it looks like in game. All the effects are boxes and nothing shows up correctly. Is there something I can do so effects show up like they do in-game?

User avatar
erdrik
Posts: 5421
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:13 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by erdrik » Mon Mar 08, 2010 9:35 pm

I got it to work by exporting the effects and render folders(from the sots.gob) into a seperate "work" folder.
Any effects I open in the editer are from that effects folder.
It works for me. *shrug*

User avatar
Zabaron
Zuul Survivor
Zuul Survivor
Posts: 1814
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2006 4:46 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by Zabaron » Tue Mar 09, 2010 2:53 am

You need to extract the textures and shaders as well as the effects. Most of these are in the effects folder, so just extract the whole thing like erdrik said.

-Zabaron
"ʎq ʎlɟ ʎǝɥʇ sɐ ǝʞɐɯ ʎǝɥʇ punos ƃuıɥsooʍ ʇɐɥʇ ǝʌol ı ˙sǝuılpɐǝp ǝʌol ı"
sɯɐpɐ sɐlƃnop-

User avatar
SpardaSon21
Posts: 1864
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2008 6:24 am

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by SpardaSon21 » Tue Mar 09, 2010 7:08 am

What I did was I extracted every file in my Effects folder to the folder I load effects from, as well as the contents of my Render folder, preserving the folder structure. Do I need to copy them to the folder that contains the editor?

User avatar
THIEFs
Posts: 144
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2007 9:21 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by THIEFs » Mon Oct 18, 2010 3:47 pm

Filecloud is gone.

Can editor be uploaded to another file sharing site, please?


castewarkp wrote:Sorry, get it here;

http://castewar.filecloud.com/

Warcat
Posts: 1106
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 4:32 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by Warcat » Thu Jan 13, 2011 7:15 am

SpardaSon21 wrote:What I did was I extracted every file in my Effects folder to the folder I load effects from, as well as the contents of my Render folder, preserving the folder structure. Do I need to copy them to the folder that contains the editor?


I had the same problem and I solved it exctracting the Effects folder and the Render folder from the .gob file and putting them as subfolders in the folder containing the Editor folder.

Example
\Mods\Apollo
\Mods\Effects
\Mods\Render

It works fine (just tried yesterday...)

User avatar
erdrik
Posts: 5421
Joined: Thu Aug 24, 2006 7:13 pm

Re: Apollo Effects Editor

Post by erdrik » Sat Mar 12, 2011 11:39 pm

Im getting an error with apollo:
"This application has failed to start becuase d3dx9_36.dll was not found.
Re-installing the application may fix this problem."

I tried reinstalling directx from the SotS:CC disk, but it failed.
I suspect its doing this becuase Ive recently installed a fresh installation of windows on a new drive.
So I found the file on my old drive and copied it over to the new one.
It still didn't work.
Its been awhile since Ive even used apollo, was there anything I needed to download in order to get it working? (OS: Vista 64)

Post Reply

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests