Morrigi Weapon Advice

Galactic diplomacy with extreme prejudice.
shadowclasper

Morrigi Weapon Advice

Post by shadowclasper » Fri Oct 25, 2013 9:25 pm

So I'm new to the game, relatively speaking (which is to say I've only just gotten back into playing it after ages and ages, and finding out about the new releases and all that), and I've always been a big morrigi player. I know morrigi tend to go for drones, energy weapons, and beams, but I was curious if anybody could give me a run down of the technologies I should shoot for as a Morrigi player, and how I should put them together? I know that as a first turn player I should shoot to make prototypes that'll last long and allow lots of retrofitting (eg: energy weapon placements and such, missiles in the rear section, etc.), but what else should I look to go for and advance along? And why should I do it? (I'm asking this prememptively so that I don't have to ask it later and look like I'm doubting you, I just like to know the reasons behind a choice).

edit: I also tend to go for a drone heavy fleet, ever since that "A Murder of Crows" trailer back in the first game with the dreadnaught launching tons of drones I've always adored watching my fleets release bajillions of fighters. I understand though that that might not be the best strategy to go with Morrigi anymore, since our dreadnaughts are really good now and it might pay more to invest in big old guns on tons of them instead of blotting out the stars with all the drones I throw at my enemies?

Karu

Re: Morrigi Weapon Advice

Post by Karu » Fri Oct 25, 2013 10:44 pm

Speaking for the Crows:

- You get a "free of charge" fitting for your light freighter when you research them. If you got PD before that your frighter will have PD!