Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Moderator: Makail

israelien
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by israelien » Tue Mar 20, 2012 12:57 am

techtree.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Marakis
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Marakis » Sat May 05, 2012 8:57 pm

Can't you just use the Mars Console? All Tech sstill works that way.

DeKa
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:04 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by DeKa » Sat May 05, 2012 9:45 pm

i dont know where to ask else, but do i need to start a new game if i alter my tech files ? like i set a permanent flag for something i allready tried a FS on and failed ?

israelien
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Aug 27, 2011 7:19 pm

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by israelien » Sun May 06, 2012 1:16 am

save games aren't affected by tampering with the tech tree.

if you want to use a modded tech tree you have to start a new game.

DeKa
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:04 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by DeKa » Sun May 06, 2012 10:28 pm

ok so the modded/altered techtree gets loaded in a new game, but not in a savegame ... but how does the game know that the techtree has been altered ?

like i played a game, failed on a tech, modded the tech to permanent or researched and reload the game... the old techtree doesnt exist anymore so how does the game reloads the old techtree if it doesnt even exist anymore ?

User avatar
Exavier724
Posts: 551
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:50 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Exavier724 » Mon May 07, 2012 2:12 pm

Saved games don't get tech tree file changes because once the randomizer is done its loaded into a SQL database with all the link, feasibility, costs, and state information. You would need to use a SQL program (there is one somewhere on these forums) to actually edit the save game and change the values if you want to modify a saved game. Otherwise you have to start a new game to generate a new tree.

User avatar
Pixeh
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2011 12:35 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Pixeh » Mon May 07, 2012 5:36 pm

For the purpose of testing all techs this is still as easy to do as it was in prime.

1. Find the file you need to edit:
...\Steam\steamapps\common\sword of the stars ii\assets\base\Tech\techtree.techtree

2. Open it in any text editor, everyone has notepad.

3. Press: Ctrl + H
Find What: <ResearchPoints>
Replace With: <ResearchPoints>0.

4. Press Replace All and Enjoy.

This gives you all tech unlocked and researched at turn 1.
Might not be the most elegant way to do this but it works.

PS.
Remember to make a backup of the file, otherwise either do a Replace again with the fields swapped or just have Steam fix it for you with the integrity check.

Exitialis
Posts: 41
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 4:44 pm

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Exitialis » Mon May 07, 2012 7:07 pm

I don't understand why you guys don't just use the console. It's really REALLY simple. I can give you a quick step by step:

1. go to your Computer\OS (C:)\Users\YOURUSERNAME\\AppData\Local\Kerberos_Productions\sots2.exe_url_bucnhofweirdnumbers\some other map

In order to see the AppData folder press alt and a options bar will pop up in the explorer window, go to tools and select folder options. A window will pop up with three tabs, select "View".
Under Advanced settings there will be a "Show hidden files, folders and drives" option, mark it and press ok. Now refresh your explorer and you should see the AppData folder.

2. When you have located the right folder from Nr. 1, above, there will be a file named user.config double-click it.

3. You will now recieve a message that windows can't open the file, with two choices.

4. Select the "Select a program from a list of installed programs" choice and press Ok.

5. Now you will see a bunch of different programs, look for "Notepad" and select it.

6. Uncheck the "Always use the selected program to open this kind of file", then press Ok

7. Now you will find a bunch of code. Look for this:
</setting>
<setting name="AllowConsole" serializeAs="String">
<value>False</value>
</setting>

8. Change the False to True (Make sure you use a capital T)

9. Save the file.
If windows won't allow you to change the file for some reason, then move it to the desktop and open it and change it there, then move it back.

10. In steam right-click Sots 2 and select properties and press the "Set launch options..."

11. Write +console and press Ok.

12. Start Sots2.

13. A console will now appear in a window behind the main game application.

14. Start a sots2 game. Press End Turn to get to the next turn.

15. When the next turn has loaded up, alt-tab and select the console window.

16. Write: alltech in the text bar and press enter.

17. Alt-Tab back to Sots2.

18. Click the "Research" window.

19. You will now see that you have every tech possible for your race.

20. BEFORE you design any new ships. Press End Turn again. When the new turn has loaded up, you can start designing ships.

This may sound complex, but it's 100 times more simple and time efficient that having to go through every single tech and editing it's attributes.
AND it makes sure that the computer don't get the techs aswell. (Until they have researched it)
Hope this helps anyone!

DeKa
Posts: 247
Joined: Fri Nov 20, 2009 12:04 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by DeKa » Tue May 08, 2012 5:35 am

thanks for the clarification exavier, this explains much for me

User avatar
Rayp
Posts: 1516
Joined: Tue Aug 29, 2006 10:44 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Rayp » Tue May 29, 2012 5:54 pm

Exitialis wrote:This may sound complex, but it's 100 times more simple and time efficient that having to go through every single tech and editing it's attributes.
AND it makes sure that the computer don't get the techs aswell. (Until they have researched it)
Hope this helps anyone!


But i found a super easy way to change values in batch, so changing the techtree file is a lot simplier. With notepad ++, i do this:

Code: Select all

Replace: 
Find what> <ResearchPoints>*.*</ResearchPoints>
replace with> <ResearchPoints>0</ResearchPoints>


This is easier as you have to open just one file and the change is permanent (until you restore the old file or the game update).

Panthera Leo
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat May 17, 2008 6:47 pm

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Panthera Leo » Fri Jun 01, 2012 7:59 pm

GammaPaladin wrote:...
I honestly have no idea how anyone can get by without knowing regex, it's just so useful for so many things.
...


It's a bit of thread necro, and I'm not sure your still around anymore. Still that grates at me.

http://en.cppreference.com/w/cpp/string ... tring/find

There are also built in mechanics for it with the c/c++ 'typedef' and 'using' keyword. Along with macro definitions and just plain sound object oriented design.
No, there is no pleasing me, Why would you think there is? :P I'm mean, and always wrong...I mean right! :)

User avatar
BlueTemplar
Posts: 3131
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2007 9:15 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by BlueTemplar » Fri Aug 21, 2015 11:16 am

Since I haven't found any more recent thread about this, I'm resurrecting it. (P.S.:Console doesn't work anymore.)

For version 2.0.25104.1 (latest as of now) :
(uploaded both here and on my website with links below)

All techs techtree.techtree
AllTechs_techtree_2.0.25104.1.zip


Save game on a small map with all the 7 races with all techs
All_Techs_Test_2.0.25104.1.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Karu
Posts: 420
Joined: Sun Apr 21, 2013 11:49 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Karu » Wed Sep 02, 2015 4:43 pm

Thank you BlueTemplar

That should reduce my 7 savegames of that kind to one ^_^'
Bootmarked until I need the reference in game for ship build tryouts :)


Sincerely

User avatar
Marakis
Posts: 202
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 10:16 pm

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by Marakis » Fri Jan 01, 2016 1:03 am

I miss the console.

AdmiralFox
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 23, 2013 6:59 am

Re: Anyone made an "all techs unlocked mod"?

Post by AdmiralFox » Sun May 21, 2017 8:28 am

Sorry about this resurrection but when using @BlueTemplar All Tech, I got EVERYTHING not just the researchable techs. Can someone cook up one with ONLY the researchable techs?

Post Reply

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests