Modding Question

Moderator: Makail

Post Reply
SerinMaldy
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:05 am

Modding Question

Post by SerinMaldy » Fri Feb 24, 2012 4:26 am

Are the files able to be manipulated by notepad++ or is another editor required. If one another is required what is it called and where can I get it.

There are several things I want to start to look at and see if I can change or improve on them.

Thank you for your assistance.

User avatar
Exavier724
Posts: 551
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2011 6:50 am

Re: Modding Question

Post by Exavier724 » Sat Feb 25, 2012 9:12 pm

Notepad++ works fine... If you want highlighting then use the Language Dropdown and select XML which is what the format is in :)

User avatar
rimbimbambo
Kerberos
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Modding Question

Post by rimbimbambo » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:18 pm

Yeah you can use any plain text editor, just as long as it doesn't put any additional tags in.

123
Posts: 30
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:55 pm

Re: Modding Question

Post by 123 » Mon Mar 05, 2012 10:56 pm

So if i change something there ,like tech availbility some races(i mean feasybility),then after new uppdate its turn back what it was earlier?

User avatar
Kohlrabi
Posts: 272
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 4:34 pm

Re: Modding Question

Post by Kohlrabi » Tue Mar 06, 2012 8:51 am

Chances are that your modded files will be overwritten, so keep backups - both the original files, and your modded files.

Although: Replacing new, patched files with your old modded files might result in you effectively playing an older version of the game, so it might be better to redo the changes on the new files instead.
Hiver Psychoanalyst: So... tell me about our mother.

User avatar
Cr3d0
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 8:34 am

Re: Modding Question

Post by Cr3d0 » Sun Mar 11, 2012 12:29 pm

is it possible to edit the command point to extend it? if yes wich file need to be edited?

User avatar
rimbimbambo
Kerberos
Posts: 440
Joined: Sat Oct 08, 2011 8:42 pm

Re: Modding Question

Post by rimbimbambo » Tue Mar 20, 2012 8:40 pm

If you have a second install, you can redirect mars to launch with a different asset root path. I think there's a thread in here somewhere on how to do this.

Post Reply

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests