SOTS II Reforged

Moderator: Makail

Post Reply
Speedy2511
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Jul 07, 2011 7:20 pm

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Speedy2511 » Thu May 04, 2017 8:45 pm

adamut100 wrote:Speedy -
Looks like the same issue. Turn off menu background combat and it should work. Might take a few tries to get past the ctd but once you do go to options and shut that off and should work fine.



Thanks again, it worked! :)

adamut100
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by adamut100 » Thu May 04, 2017 9:27 pm

Awesome. Glad that fixed it for now. It would be very helpful for me if anyone sees any of the following to point them out:
--Bad section names/descriptions: These looks like the @SECTIONDESC/@SECTIONTITLE names on weapons/sections/etc. Those are very easy fixes but a pain to run down.
--OP sections due to bad pasting on my part. For example, the tarkas assault fusion BR engine has way too much armor.
--Sections where the thrust is less than 0. I've seen one already. Going to make a general acceleration update in my next upload but if you see one, point it out so i can fix it for sure.
--Any CTD issues.


I'm going to play through 50 or so turns with each "playable faction" and then start on the next update for Zuul next week unless something game breaking comes up in my testing.

User avatar
Rossinna-Sama
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:38 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Rossinna-Sama » Fri May 05, 2017 2:35 am

Image
You can see two issues with this screenshot - the various icons denoting the engagement type (such as spread fire) are missing. The other one is that with every tech, you got too many heavy mount options. You can still select and use those which have been cut off, but you've only got one selectable slot left for Solforce.

Inside the SOTS 2 folder, a considerable amount of stuff is missing. All of the non-weapon icon folders for example are empty.
Not sure if this is due to the installer or what due to lack of experience with that thing. Is it happening with yours?

PS. I know you've not used it, but don't use the Inertial Projector's model for anything. Loa doesn't have a model for it.
Sword of the Stars 2 : Project Hiver - work in progress
Sword of the Stars 2 : Vanilla AI Enhancement Mod - Alpha Version 6 now Available.
Creator of the upcoming Seimei universe.

adamut100
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by adamut100 » Fri May 05, 2017 2:49 am

The way the installer works you only have to include items you change in the download. It overwrites those files and leaves the remaining structure intact on the rest. You do have to do somethings like turn all the weapons you aren't using to IsVisible = false etc to prevent them mucking up the works but I tried to cut out anything i hadn't altered to reduce the download size (though i missed the entire EOF folder so fail there). I think i am going to get rid of the heavy mount options for many of the smaller guns. It is a distraction and I can't imagine preferring tri-linked lasers to a laser cannon. That would cut down on the noise a lot.

User avatar
Rossinna-Sama
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:38 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Rossinna-Sama » Fri May 05, 2017 2:53 am

adamut100 wrote:The way the installer works you only have to include items you change in the download. It overwrites those files and leaves the remaining structure intact on the rest. You do have to do somethings like turn all the weapons you aren't using to IsVisible = false etc to prevent them mucking up the works but I tried to cut out anything i hadn't altered to reduce the download size (though i missed the entire EOF folder so fail there). I think i am going to get rid of the heavy mount options for many of the smaller guns. It is a distraction and I can't imagine preferring tri-linked lasers to a laser cannon. That would cut down on the noise a lot.


Redid the installation - was my fault. There was two SOTS2 Reforged folders in the MODS folder due to how I extract things. Restored my "MP" SOTS2 backup install, put your mod back and the files are no longer missing. Back ta' work...

Btw, you can stop the main menu combat loading without being ingame if need be.
*:\Users\*Username*\AppData\Local\Sword of the Stars II\settings - Settings.xml.

<LoadMenuCombat>True</LoadMenuCombat> simply gets changed to False.
Sword of the Stars 2 : Project Hiver - work in progress
Sword of the Stars 2 : Vanilla AI Enhancement Mod - Alpha Version 6 now Available.
Creator of the upcoming Seimei universe.

User avatar
Rossinna-Sama
Posts: 1637
Joined: Sun Nov 11, 2012 5:38 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Rossinna-Sama » Fri May 05, 2017 4:18 am

GENERIC

--You must have all weapon banks with unique IDs. Otherwise save games will have issues with designs having incorrect weapon assignments This will also impact MP stability and sync issues if not done.--
Phantom Missile has no icon assigned.
Torpedoes are not using their unique sound effects.
Fusion Burst Torpedo has no icon assigned.
Heavy Ripper has no string name entry
Jaeger missile has a duplicate entry
Factions with Max Research as well as access to grapples go over their maximum limit for Heavy weapons, rendering some unable to be selected.


SOLFORCE

Missile Satellite has two entries.
Missile Satellite has no description

Escort BR has an invalid description
Reflex BR Engine has no description, nor does its two variants.

DN Heavy Lancer's description states that it is only in use by the Morrigi.
DN Antimatter engines (All three variants) have invalid Name and Description strings.

CR Battle Bridge has two entries - Just name and description needs altering from the base version.
CR Adv Command has some unusual turret size placements (2 medium 1 light on one side, 1 medium 2 light on the other.)
CR Elite Vanguard has its Very Heavy mount in the wrong slot. (Its on the side when it should be the one in the front.)


HIVER

The second variant of SDB has identical name and description to the normal one

--HIVER ASTEROID CITADEL CRASH ON DESIGN SCREEN--

BR Reflex Engines have no description
BR Reflex Engine has no name entry



TARKAS

Missile Satellite has two entries.
Missile Satellite has no description

BR Scout has two entries.
BR Spinal HCL has no name or description
BR Heavy Fusion has an invalid description
BR Reflex Engines have invalid descriptions

Invasion LV has two entries
World Ship LV has two entries

DN Heavy Impactor has no name or description
DN Heavy Missile has two entries

CR Light Freighter has the same name and description as the DN sized freighter
CR Adv Command has no name or description
CR Heavy Impactor has no name or description
CR Tarkan Raider has no name or description


LIIRIAN

BB Barrage has invalid description
BB Impactor has invalid description
BB Antimatter engine has invalid description
BB Fusion engine has invalid description

BC Battle Bridge has invalid description
BC Strafe has invalid description
BC Deflector has invalid description
BC Cloaking has invalid description
BC Disruptor has invalid description
BC Barrage has invalid description
BC Impactor has invalid description
BC Mine Layer has invalid description
BC Antimatter engine has invalid description
BC Fusion engine has invalid description

BR Escort has invalid description
BR Reflex Engines have no descriptions
BR Reflex Enginer has no name


LOA

BR Satellite has no name or description
Loa do not seem to have their scan sat converted to the "orbital fortress". This means it is mislabeled in any case.

BR Escort has invalid description
BR Antimatter Streak engine has an invalid description

DN Blazer has no name or description

CR Blazer has no name or description



ZUUL

Zuul do not seem to have their scan sat converted to the "orbital fortress". This means it is mislabeled in any case.

DN Blazer has no name or description

CR Blazer has no name or description


MORRIGI

All Morrigi platforms spin too fast. Their larger weaponry will often not fire as their tracking speed can not keep up with the platforms rotation.
Missile Satellite has two entries.

Invasion LV has two entries
World Ship LV has two entries

DN Missile has two entries
DN Advanced Carrier has no name or description
DN Fusion Engines all have no name or description

CR Advanced Shield's description simply reads "Advanced shield"
CR Missile has two entries
CR AM Assault and Heavy Void Cutters seem to have far too much structure and armor ratings

-EDIT- I fixed the Hiver scan sat and it still crashes when doing the main menu.
Going to investigate the randoms and GMs next.
Sword of the Stars 2 : Project Hiver - work in progress
Sword of the Stars 2 : Vanilla AI Enhancement Mod - Alpha Version 6 now Available.
Creator of the upcoming Seimei universe.

User avatar
Lord Primus
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 7:01 pm

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Lord Primus » Fri May 05, 2017 10:29 am

In relation to the weapon selection panel Rossinna-Sama comments on in the pic above, I have found how to enlarge it so you can make more weapon choice rows available.

In the following file:
assets/base/ui/skin1/skin1.XML

Then use ctrl+F, type in the following:

<panel_template id="WeaponSelector">

and hit next to jump to the right entry,

then just edit the height to make more rows available as you expand, it make take a few attempts to get the max height right. Default is 288. Same is true for the width (default is 460) if you would rather expand that way too. I haven't worked out the formula yet to calculate the max size yet.

For info, below this part is also the module and psionic selector panels too.

EDIT:
For the width you also need to match it with the weapon info panel which is stored above the selector section.
Last edited by Lord Primus on Fri May 05, 2017 1:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

adamut100
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by adamut100 » Fri May 05, 2017 10:47 am

Awesome thanks for the assist Rossinna. I've caught and corrected a few of these already but this list is very helpful and extensive!

Primus- This is useful information as well. In my v1.5 WIP files I've removed the heavy turret versions of all the light weapons. Think this frees up enough slots to solve the issue but this is useful if I add more weapons (which is on the agenda for a later update).

HellBent
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2012 9:57 pm

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by HellBent » Tue May 09, 2017 4:09 pm

Amazing that a mod is still going on for one of the criminally dissapointing games i think for me
I will be reinstalling SoTS2 tomorrow and using this, please keep up the work!

Svey
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:56 pm

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Svey » Tue May 09, 2017 10:51 pm

Likewise, I'm both glad and amazed that SOTS2 still has a community.

I am having an issue with the mod though. ON a fresh, working install of SOTS2, with the mod installed through GME, it's not working correctly. The game will load and I can play it, but all the "new" weapons that you add have odd names, (starting with @) as well as all the original weapons still being there. The new maps are in as well, but nothing else. No new sections, no research changes, ghost ship still there with no input from me, ect. It seems like its loading partially but then reverting back to vanilla.

Trying a complete fresh install again while double checking all the instructions atm. Thanks in advance for any and all help.

adamut100
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by adamut100 » Tue May 09, 2017 11:06 pm

Are playing using English strings file? The strings file is the source of the names. If so I would manually replace the strings file after you install with jsgme. Not sure what the particular issue is but the strings file is the source of the missing names.

Svey
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:56 pm

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Svey » Tue May 09, 2017 11:40 pm

As far as I'm aware. Not so much worried about the weapon names compared to the fact that all the tech and section changes aren't taking effect. Unless the strings file controls that. (i have no modding experience btw)

*****Fixed it. Apparently, it was unzipping into SOTS2 Reforged\Sots2 reforged\then files, got rid of the first folder and got startup crash. Disabled menu combat and manually replaced strings file and all is good now. Quite odd. Thanks for the quick replies though and keep up the good work.
Last edited by Svey on Wed May 10, 2017 12:24 am, edited 1 time in total.

adamut100
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by adamut100 » Tue May 09, 2017 11:57 pm

All the names are in the strings file for techs sections weapons etc. If you check the strings file in your local install it should have the same date as in the mod folder. If it doesn't you have found the issue but I am surprised you are having this issue. The mod installer essentially force overwrites the old files in the exact same place. Let me check out the folder structure and iwill tell you exactly where to check.

Svey
Posts: 39
Joined: Sun Aug 01, 2010 5:56 pm

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by Svey » Fri May 12, 2017 1:40 am

Got that all taken care of and now I find something else. The AI doesn't survey, at all. I cleaned everything up and did a fresh install after making sure that vanilla worked fine which it did. I watched my allies for over 80 turns and not once did they ever create a survey mission. They will colonize their starters, build stations, and build fleets, but will not survey. I didn't notice this before when I had the other issues since I hadn't come into contact with anyone yet. I've double checked everything I can think of and have no ideas. Something isn't transfering correctly but I don't know where the issue lies. Any and all help appreciated.

adamut100
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Dec 18, 2014 12:48 am

Re: SOTS II Reforged

Post by adamut100 » Fri May 12, 2017 2:41 am

Interesting... I looked over the fleet templates to make sure i didn't break something. I don't see anything there that looks like an issue. Few questions:
--Was it one faction or several?
--Which faction(s)?
--What map?

Might be a supply issue with them unable to reach the new worlds? I've definitely encountered surveying fleets in my testing. Anyone else seeing it?

Post Reply

Return to “Modding”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests